Muskhane to Needle Felting

In my last visit to Paris in November, I discovered a home goods lifestyle shop Muskhane in the Le Marais neighborhood, just a 3 minute walk from Marché des Enfants-Rouges. Founded by a French duo, the fondateurs employ craftsmen from Kathmandu, Nepal, to make soft, muted felted pieces for the home– Modern Western. The brand’s products I was most impressed by were the felted rugs— how beautiful and ornate they were, and made with such a homely material such as felted wool!

Inspired, I knew I wanted to learn to felt beautiful objects myself.

Over Christmas, I received a needle felting tool kit, a large ball of white merino wool (cozy!), and a needle felting how-to book. I finished reading the book over a couple days, and then I set to work.

Initially thinking I’d set about making felted slippers with a stylish pattern, I wizened up to the ambitiousness of such a first-time project and decided instead to make a strawberry.

Et voila,

Bises,

Soo

3 Comments

Leave a comment